WordAds Problem Proposal…

Down below is a copypasta of a previous post

TLDR, I have to create a new website

I actually have a crazy idea and an ok idea.

The ok the idea is that I continue with this replacement website until it can get enough views and I can apply to wordads again (simply on a different account because apparently I can’t reapply for wordads even though I didn’t cause bots to view my site, nani???)

The crazy idea is I make my own website from scratch and get google ads later, because I’m interested in CS. I’ve actually had this idea for a long, long time, but because I’m a lazy butt, I never got around to implementing it. But maybe I’ll stay forever too lazy, we’ll see.


I suddenly noticed today that my WordAds option had suddenly disappeared. Perhaps it had been missing for quite a while, and I had only noticed today because a recent friend who also wanted to monetize his website had asked me questions about ads. (I don’t actually care too much about the money, which is why it probably took me so long to notice). Edit: Actually the last time WordPress paid me was February, but I had simply never noticed.

I immediately inquired and found that it turns out a large number of views had come from bots. This was greatly disheartening for two reasons:

1. I realized that I had been prideful in something that was fake
2. More importantly, I cannot reapply to WordAds.

I remember quite a while back that WuxiaWorld had some kind of similar problem but forgot how they rectified it. I know there is an option somewhere that can transfer all the pages and content to another website, but am not sure about the specifics. Worst case scenario, I can just copy and paste everything over. This could be an opportunity to edit everything in terms of both formatting and grammar/content.

So many options are running through my head right now, but right now, all I can think of are two major options:

1. Create a completely new website and later run WordAds after the website fits the qualifications (has enough traffic, has domain). Kinda sucks that I’d have to pay another $18 when I haven’t used up this domain for the year yet…

2. Join another established website where I would never have to worry about this problem, but this requires more compromise and I cannot be so flexible. (I have two in mind actually, one that I asked a long time ago, and the second one that gave me an offer after I did a brief collaboration to translate manga for a hot second.)

I would first like to hold a poll for which option you like best to hear you guys’ opinion

If I opt to create a completely new website, I will create a poll for the website name. (Or maybe I could wait until this domain runs out for the year and buy it again for my other website).

If I opt to join another website, I will have to ask readers which website would be most convenient for them and then have to ask that website myself if I can join (which sounds like more of a hassle).

I am currently thinking of creating another blog and linking from this blog to the other blog as a temporary solution, although the name is to be decided.

I feel so sad because this problem was created out of my control, and that a lot of what I took pride in for this website was a lie 😦 (Can WordPress please give me an actual estimate of how many views/viewers I have??? I wanna know!!!)

Lastly, you might wonder why I care so much if I donate everything to charity. I still want to do so, and maybe take a percentage to incentivize myself. It is also possible that if I ever run into money trouble that I could turn to this as my last resort (although technically speaking, this website has gotten me much much lower than minimum wage; I was mostly doing it for fun).

One thought on “WordAds Problem Proposal…

  1. The only reason to make a website honestly is if you want learn how to/get better at making them. It would be like spending hours to do it yourself something you can buy premade for $5. Even worse here since I know there are people in the translation community who would host you for nothing because they’re just nice people. So instead of a poll it’s really “are you interested in web design?” If you are, then go for it. If you aren’t really, then there’s no reason to reinvent the wheel. Just my two gp.

    Like

Leave a comment